Home |Science Fiction |Fantasy |Horror  Subscribe to SFFMeta     
sffmeta logo


 for   of 

Kat Hooper's Reviews


first page   previous page   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   next page   last page

Songs of Love and Death Image
Songs of Love and Death (Fantasy) 60(1)
Published by Gallery on November 16, 2010
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 60
[Audio Version] There were a few weak stories in Songs of Love and Death, but some excellent ones, too.
Full Review Link

Three Days to Dead Image
Three Days to Dead (Fantasy) 35(3)
Published by Dell on November 24, 2009
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 45
The writing is well done, the audio production (Tantor Audio) I listened to was excellent, and there is plenty of tension and suspense, but the plot is not as exciting as its premise, and there is nothing unique or particularly fascinating about the world building.
Full Review Link

The Mischief Monster (Moongobble and Me, Book 4) Image
The Mischief Monster (Moongobble and Me, Book 4) (Children Fantasy) 70(1)
Published by Aladdin on August 05, 2008
First Published by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing in 2007
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 70
The plot of The Mischief Monster is cute and funny [...]. My girls loved the story. [...] I just suggest reading this one in print.
Full Review Link

Among Thieves (The Kin, Book 1) Image
Among Thieves (The Kin, Book 1) (Fantasy) 70(6)
Published by Roc on April 05, 2011
First Published by Tor in 2011
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 78
[Audio Version] It could be compared to Scott Lynch's work or even Fritz Leiber's LANKHMAR stories except that, though well-written, Among Thieves lacks the high language and humorous philosophical musings that elevate Leiber's stories above other S & S tales and makes them so appealing to me.
Full Review Link

The Simulacra Image
The Simulacra (Science Fiction) 75(1)
Published by Vintage on May 14, 2002
First Published by Ace in 1964
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 75
[Audio Version] The Simulacra juggles a huge set of characters and several subplots which at first seem unrelated but which Dick successfully brings together into a coherent whole by the end of the novel...
Full Review Link

The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine Image
The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine (Horror) 75(2)
Published by Subterranean on January 31, 2012
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 70
Straub succeeds in alarming the reader right from the start...
Full Review Link

All About Emily Image
All About Emily (Science Fiction) 73(3)
Published by Subterranean on January 31, 2012
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 80
The plot of All About Emily moves quickly, never lags, and kept me thoroughly entertained for the couple of hours that it took me to read the book.
Full Review Link

 Image
Winter (The Demi-Monde, Book 1) (Science Fiction) 61(4)
Published by William Morrow & Company on December 01, 2011
First Published by Quercus Books in 2011
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 25
Despite its dull writing style, I was interested in the plot of The Demi-Monde: Winter, but it's kind of hard to get through it when you're rolling your eyes during every line of text and then have to keep finding your place again.
Full Review Link

Now Wait for Last Year Image
Now Wait for Last Year (Science Fiction) 80(1)
Published by Mariner Books on October 18, 2011
First Published by Daw Books in 1966
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 80
[Audio Version] There's mystery, whimsy, and humor here, too -- the scenes with the talking taxis are funny (humorous situations with automatons are a familiar PKD element).
Full Review Link

The Inheritance and Other Stories Image
The Inheritance and Other Stories (Fantasy) 81(6)
Published by Subterranean on October 31, 2011
First Published by Harper Voyager in 2011
  
Fantasy Literature Review Rating: 80
The Inheritance and Other Stories gives you a glimpse at the other person living in [Hobb's] brain and allows you to spend more time in her fascinating worlds.
Full Review Link

first page   previous page   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   next page   last page



   © SFFMeta 2009-2011. All rights Reserved. | About | FAQ | Advertising informations | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use